Events

  • Date:
    Fri, 13 May 2016
    Location:
    Harlem Arts Salon

    Black Hollywood Unchained is an anthology edited by Ishmael Reed. The official launch will take place at the Harlem Arts Salon on May 13th at 6:30 pm, with contributors Ishmael Reed, Houston A. Baker, David Henderson,  Jill Nelson, and other guests, including Hollywood producer, Rudy Langlais. $40. Benefits The Gloster Arts Projectshttp://harlemartssalon.com/has_blog/  

  • Date:
    Thu, 19 May 2016
    Location:
    University of Ca'Foscari

    Ishmael Reed will receive the 2016 Career Prize from the  “Premio Alberto Dubito di Poesia e Poesia con musica” (“Alberto Dubito Award for Poetry and Music Poetry”), in Venice, Italy on May 19th, 2016 at the University of Ca' Foscari in Venice, The prize is named for Alberto Dubito (a.k.a. Alberto Feltrin), who was a young poet, performer, photographer and street artist who died three years ago, at the age of twenty. In addition to the award ceremonies in Venice, Reed will participate in readings as part of a Festival of Poetry in Treviso (May 20th) and Vincenza (May 21).

  • Date:
    Wed, 03 Jun 2015 to Fri, 05 Jun 2015

     Hangzhou, China

  • Date:
    Mon, 01 Jun 2015 to Tue, 02 Jun 2015

    Wuhan, China.

  • Date:
    Thu, 28 May 2015 to Sun, 31 May 2015

    International Conference: "Literature and Transnational Studies," Hunan University of Science and Technology, Xiangtan, China.

  • Date:
    Thu, 16 Apr 2015 to Sun, 19 Apr 2015

    SF JAZZ Poetry Festival, "The Cities Speak of Poetry," four nights of poetry from San Francisco, San Jose, Oakland and Berkeley at the Joe Henderson Lab at the SF JAZZ Center, San Francisco.

  • Date:
    Thu, 26 Mar 2015 to Sat, 28 Mar 2015

    International Conference: "American Multiculturalism In Context," Université de Haute Alsace, Mulhouse, France, and including March 27 reading and concert at Jazz School campus in Basel, Switzerland. 

  • Date:
    Tue, 24 Mar 2015

    Reading at Carl-Schurz-Haus, Freiburg, Germany

  • Date:
    Sat, 07 Mar 2015

    SAM Conference at Sheridan Grand Hotel, Sacramento, California

  • Date:
    Thu, 05 Mar 2015

    Poetry Reading and SF Bay area book launch of "Courtesans of Flounder Hill" by Ishmael Hope (Ishmael Reed Publishing Co., December, 2014), joined by Caroline Goodwin: Graduate Center, California College of the Arts, San Francisco.

Pages